Bobbi Pritt, M.D., and Gary Keeney, M.D., Receive 2016 Teacher of Year Awards

Bobbi Pritt, M.D., and Gary Keeney, M.D., were recently selected as recipients of the 2016 Pathology Teacher of the Year Award from the Mayo Fellows’ Association.

Dr.-Pritt-1024x683About Dr. Bobbi Pritt
Dr. Pritt is the Director of the Clinical Parasitology and Initial Processing Laboratories and a Consultant in the Clinical Microbiology Laboratory. She serves as Vice Chair of Education and holds the academic rank of Associate Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology.

Dr. Pritt’s research focuses on clinical parasitology, vector-borne diseases, emerging pathogens, trainee education, and optimizing laboratory test utilization. She has overseen the development of multiple real-time polymerase chain reaction assays for parasites and vector-borne infections and has recently characterized two new tick-borne human pathogens in the upper midwest.

She received her M.D. from the University of Vermont College of Medicine and completed her residency in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology at Fletcher Allen Heath Care/University of Vermont Medical Center, followed by a fellowship in Medical Microbiology from the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education.

Dr.-Keeney-1024x683About Dr. Gary Keeney
Dr. Keeney is the Division Chair and Consultant in the Division of Anatomic Pathology and holds the academic rank of Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology.

Dr. Keeney’s research interests focus on uterine and ovarian malignancies as well as collaborative support for the Mayo Clinic Gynecological Department and the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center.

Dr. Keeney has authored more than 250 peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, and abstracts. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Southern College in Collegedale, Tennessee, and earned his medical degree from Loma Linda University School of Medicine in California. He completed his residency in anatomic and clinical pathology at Loma Linda University School of Medicine and a fellowship in surgical pathology at Mayo Graduate School.

About the Mayo Clinic Teacher of the Year Awards
The Mayo Clinic Teacher of the Year Awards originated in 1970 with the Internal Medicine Residents’ Education Committee during the chairmanship of Allan L. Plummer, M.D., who termed the awards “a long overdue expression of appreciation.”

The awards have since been presented annually and have expanded to include all departments campus-wide in Rochester and are awarded by the Mayo Fellows’ Association. Nominees are submitted by residents and fellows from their respective departments and are voted on by all residents and fellows. The winning characteristics of Mayo’s Teacher of the Year recipients have always been dedication to resident teaching, going above and beyond regular duties, and serving as mentors for young physicians in training.

On Thursday, April 28, the awards were presented at the 47th Annual Awards Celebration of the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association, Mayo Fellows’ Association, and the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education in Phillips Hall of the Siebens Building on the Rochester campus.

Kelley Luedke

Kelley Luedke

Kelley Luedke is a Marketing Channel Manager at Mayo Clinic Laboratories. She is the principle editor and writer of Insights and leads social media and direct marketing strategy. Kelley has worked at Mayo Clinic since 2013. Outside of work, you can find Kelley running, traveling, playing with her kitty, and exploring new foods.