Allan Jaffe, M.D., and Loralie Langman, Ph.D., Receive AACC Awards

During the opening plenary session of the American Association of Clinical Chemistry (AACC) Annual Scientific Meeting, held in Chicago this year, the association honors individuals in laboratory medicine for their lifetime achievements in the field and recognizes future leaders. Allan Jaffe, M.D., Consultant and Chair of Mayo Clinic’s Division of Clinical Core Laboratory Services, with a joint appointment in the Division of Cardiovascular Diseases, and Loralie Langman, Ph.D., Consultant in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at Mayo, were recipients of this year's honors.

Allan Jaffe, M.D.

Dr. Jaffe received the AACC Academy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry in a Selected Area of Research. Dr. Jaffe has spent his long academic career investigating the use of biomarkers to characterize the pathobiology of acute cardiovascular disease. He is a member of most of the major cardiology and clinical chemistry editorial boards and sits on most of the major guidelines committees for the use of these biomarkers.

Loralie Langman, Ph.D.

Dr. Langman was honored with the AACC Academy Professor Alvin Dubin Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Profession and the Academy. Dr. Langman is a Co-Chair for the Committee on Internet and Distance Learning, International Federation of Clinical Chemistry, and Laboratory Medicine. She is member of several clinical chemistry editorial boards and has served as president of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry.

Kelley Luedke

Kelley Luedke is a Marketing Channel Manager at Mayo Clinic Laboratories. She is the principle editor and writer of Insights and leads social media and direct marketing strategy. Kelley has worked at Mayo Clinic since 2013. Outside of work, you can find Kelley running, traveling, playing with her kitty, and exploring new foods.