Mayo Clinic Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Contributions Recognized by Industry-Leading Publications

Being recognized for your work is always a good feeling. Receiving a letter of gratitude from a leader in your industry and the CEO of your institution feels exceptionally good.

A letter of appreciation, which was forwarded to Mayo Clinic President and CEO John Noseworthy, M.D., and Board of Trustees member Samual Di Piazza, Jr., described the outstanding contributions to science and education that Mayo Clinic Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology (DLMP) physicians and scientists have provided to a variety of renowned publications in the industry.

The letter, written by a physician at Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, stated, “DLMP scientists and physicians are significantly impacting the progress of our profession through their scientific and educational contributions.”

A few of the accomplishments noted in the recognition letter included:

  • DLMP has the highest number of publications in Clinical Chemistry, the most cited journal in laboratory medicine.
  • DLMP has more contributors to the Tietz Textbook than any other institution.
  • DLMP has the highest number of contributors to the Clinical Chemistry Trainee Council than any other institution through development of Pearls in Laboratory Medicine, peer-reviewed lectures, and the Question Bank.
  • DLMP staff members have heavy involvement in the building of NEJM Knowledge+/AACC Learning Lab, a backbone of training programs in laboratory medicine in the country.

Dr. Noseworthy, in response to the impressive letter, replied with a few words of congratulations to Alicia Algeciras-Schimnich, Ph.D.; Robin Patel, M.D.; and Allan Jaffe, M.D., whom the letter was directed toward. “Each of you is successfully advancing our mission to inspire hope and contribute to health and well-being. Thank you for all that you do for Mayo Clinic―please extend my sincerest gratitude to your team members,” wrote Dr. Noseworthy.

“Receiving this letter was a sincere honor and source of great pride,” says DLMP Chair William Morice, II, M.D., Ph.D. "It is humbling to consider how our DLMP staff members continue to not only address of the needs of today, but they contribute to the future of medicine through the academic pursuits of research and education.”

Marie Brown, Associate Administrator, expressed how proud she is to work with such a great team, “We are grateful and appreciative of the contributions of DLMP staff to advancing Mayo’s mission as well as the field of clinical chemistry.”

DLMP Staff Members Noted in the Letter

Alicia Algeciras-Schimnich, Ph.D.Linnea Baudhuin, Ph.D.Darci Block, Ph.D.
Dong Chen, M.D., Ph.D.Stefan Grebe, M.D., Ph.D.Linda Hasadsri, M.D., Ph.D.
Allan Jaffe, M.D.Paul Jannetto, Ph.D.Brooke Katzman, Ph.D.
Loralie Langman, Ph.D.Stacy LeagueRachael Liesman, Ph.D.
John R. Mills, Ph.D.Ann Moyer, M.D., Ph.D.David Murray, M.D., Ph.D.
Robin Patel, M.D.Bobbi Pritt, M.D.Audrey Schuetz, M.D.
Christine Snozek, Ph.D.Melissa Snyder, Ph.D.Nancy Wengenack, Ph.D.
Maria Alice Willrich, Ph.D.  

April Josselyn

April Josselyn is a Marketing Channel Manager at Mayo Clinic Laboratories. She has worked at Mayo Clinic since 2012. Outside of work, April enjoys the outdoors and being "hockey mom" for her two sports-crazed boys.