Joseph Grande, M.D., Ph.D., Receives Alpha Omega Alpha Distinguished Teacher Award

Pictured from left: Marsha Rappley, M.D., AAMC Board of Directors; Joseph Grande, M.D., Ph.D.; and Darrell Kirch, M.D., AAMC President and CEO. (Photo courtesy of AAMC.)

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) has awarded Joseph Grande, M.D., Ph.D., the Alpha Omega Alpha Distinguished Teacher Award. Dr. Grande received the honor on November 5 during the AAMC’s Annual Meeting in Boston.

Dr. Grande is a Consultant in the Division of Anatomic Pathology with a joint appointment in the Department of Nephrology. He holds the academic rank of Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology from the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine.

As written on the AAMC website:

"Students have recognized Dr. Grande many times for his unwavering support and commitment to creating a positive learning environment, naming him teacher of the year more than a dozen times. He is a highly sought-after mentor and has earned acclaim for supporting the research training of more than 70 learners, including high school students, medical and graduate students, medical residents, visiting clinicians, and research fellows.

His peers have also recognized Dr. Grande as an exceptional educator, honoring him with the Dean’s Recognition Award, Distinguished Educator Award, and Medical School Career Award, among others. From 2006 to 2013, Dr. Grande served as associate dean for academic affairs at the Mayo Clinic School of Medicine, where he assisted in implementing a new curriculum that maximized student engagement and individualized learning opportunities.

Dr. Grande has influenced medical education nationally through his significant contributions as a prolific medical education scholar, reviewer for dozens of journals, a member of the editorial board of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, and, perhaps most notably, 24 years of service and counting on various committees of the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME). He has advised the NBME on Step 1 Committee and Pathology Test material development and recently completed two terms as a member of the NBME Executive Board."

About the Award

The Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award was established by the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) in 1988 and was named after AOA secretary Robert. J. Glaser. It recognizes outstanding contributions to medical education made by teachers; four awards are granted every year. According to the AAMC website, “Each awardee will receive a $10,000 prize. The awardee’s nominating institution will receive a grant of $2,500 for teaching activities, and, if the nominating institution has an AOA chapter, the chapter will receive a $1,000 grant for support of its activities.”

Molly Dee

Molly Larsen is the Web Content Coordinator at Mayo ClinicLaboratories. She is responsible for internal and external communications pertaining to the website and information technology, as well as editing content on She has worked at Mayo Clinic since 2015. Outside of work, Molly enjoys working out, reading, Harry Potter trivia, and spending time with her family and friends, including Seamus, the labrador/mastiff puppy.