Aziza Nassar, M.D., Appointed Chair of Florida Division of Laboratory Medicine

Aziza Nassar, M.D.

Aziza Nassar, M.D., was selected as the new Chair of the Florida Division of Laboratory Medicine. She will enter the role on September 19.

Dr. Nassar earned her medical degree from the University of Khartoum School of Medicine in Sudan, completed AP/CP residency training and a surgical pathology fellowship at George Washington University, and she completed a cytopathology fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Nassar received her Master of Public Health degree in epidemiology and biostatistics from George Washington University. She holds the academic rank of Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology from the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science. She joined the Mayo Clinic faculty in 2007 on the Rochester campus and subsequently moved to the Florida campus in 2013. She is recognized for her expertise in both cytopathology and breast pathology.

Dr. Nassar succeeds Andras Khoor, M.D., Ph.D., who has been in the role of chair since January 2006. During his tenure, Mayo Clinic’s Florida DLMP has grown from nine consultants, including one professor, two associate professors, five assistant professors, and one instructor to a department with 19 consultants, including four professors, five associate professors, and 10 assistant professors. The activities and academic prowess of the department have grown commensurately, and Dr. Khoor has also been an integral part of the formation and success of the Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Specialty Council.

Molly Dee

Molly Larsen is the Web Content Coordinator at Mayo ClinicLaboratories. She is responsible for internal and external communications pertaining to the website and information technology, as well as editing content on She has worked at Mayo Clinic since 2015. Outside of work, Molly enjoys working out, reading, Harry Potter trivia, and spending time with her family and friends, including Seamus, the labrador/mastiff puppy.