T-cell lymphoma

Testing to aid in diagnosis

T-cell malignancies account for approximately 12% of all non-Hodgkin's lymphomas. With more than 30 identified subtypes of T-cell neoplasms, diagnosis can be difficult. Mayo Clinic Laboratories offers comprehensive fluorescence in situ hybridization (FISH) panels, as well as extensive immunohistochemistry (IHC) offerings, to diagnose and monitor T-cell lymphoma. In addition, Mayo Clinic’s hematopathology team has extensive experience with T-cell neoplasms and frequently provides consultations for clients around the globe.

The following FISH probes available at Mayo Clinic Laboratories are associated with specific T-cell lymphoma subtypes, including:

Comprehensive testing, simplified

Our approach to fluorescence in situ hybridization (FISH)testing is designed to simplify the ordering process by providing diagnostic panels that include all appropriate genes.

Key testing

TLPDF | T-Cell Lymphoma, Diagnostic FISH panel

  • When ordered, entire TLP FISH panel will be performed

TLPMF | T-Cell Lymphoma, Specified FISH

  • Probe set(s) to be performed must be specified upon ordering. Any probe set captured under TLPDF can be ordered

TLYM | T-Cell Lymphoma, FISH, Tissue

  • Performed on paraffin-embedded tissue. Probe set(s) to be performed based on pathology evaluation, reason for referral, or what is specified upon ordering

PATHC | Pathology Consultation

  • Useful for obtaining second opinion on specimens referred by the primary pathologist

T-cell Lymphoma

Andrew Feldman, M.D., discusses the importance of comprehensive testing to identify specific subtypes of T-cell lymphoma, which is not a single disease, rather a name given to a wide variety of disease with different pathologic and clinical features.

Learn more about how to order these evaluations at your institution.